Just put the pieces together. There is a big picture. This is the calling of religion, of philosophy, of science.

“Just put the pieces together. There is a big picture. This is the calling of religion, of philosophy, of science.”

If I were to drop a million puzzle pieces on the table in front of you, where would you start, what would you do? There are those of us who would just sit there, defeated. There are those of us who would look at one piece and reflect on the world. If you can grasp the faith that there is a big picture, start to put the pieces together. Science and the Religions may disagree on the big picture and its meaning, but they both agree that there is a big picture. And both drive men to more than those who get caught up in a single thing and than those who sit there defeated.

Yesterday I told you of how I was starting a journey or a side trip.  As I scroll through these breadcrumbs of positive thoughts that are known as my one step forward, I came across this gem from eight and a half months ago.

All it makes me think is, “I told me so.”  I’ve been going back and forth between grasping huge pictures and thinking of what everything means and sitting here and looking at my life wondering where to start.

This idea was a fleeting glimpse of the reality of the human condition.  We all really seem to want all the pieces to fit together into one big picture.  Some of us reach out to God and trust that he has a grand scheme for each and all of us.  Science is not too far from that in expressed goals.

As a 311 fan for almost two decades, I run many of their lyrics through my head when I need to feel intellectually connected to someone and this idea definitely brings me back to  “It Seems Uncertain.”  Through double entendre and contrast, it really shines a light on a very common point of view that is shared by millions today.  If you were to read the lyrics, you’d feel it was a very sarcastic condemnation of faith in general and it’s bottling into religions that harbor any hatred at all.  Sung in Nick Hexum’s smooth voice, it almost seems like a plea for faith to visit him.

I share this view.  Both parts of it.

So now I move forward and am simply just going to put pieces together and see what the universe reveals to me.  There will be parts of this that are drawn by philosophers and parts that are drawn by scientists.  There will even be windows out into the world that “God” has made for us.

2 thoughts on “Just put the pieces together. There is a big picture. This is the calling of religion, of philosophy, of science.

  1. If I had a huge puzzle of a million pieces I would first get all of the border pieces and piece them together. Maintain and contain, so to speak…. Then organize the rest by pattern and color (not to be taken literally). Of course I’d need some Sara McLachlan music to calm me, but it’s a do-able puzzle. One million pieces would take at least 3 months for at least 4 hours a night. just saying… ❤

Leave a Reply

