Mistress

I love you…
I love you….
I love you like a man loves his mistress…
And I never want to love you like a man loves his wife…

I know it sounds wrong and I know it sounds dirty, but hear me out…
I want to love you like a boy loves his mother
I want to love you like a boy loves his sister
I want to love you like a boy loves that little girl down the street

I want to see you as perfect and the moment you do something wrong I want to shut my eyes like a little child and pretend I didn’t see it.
I want to see you as a hero with a pillow case tied around your neck and sword in hand
I want to see you cry only because you skinned your knee, before you knew other things could ever hurt.
I want to love you as only a child can.

…But this love known by the ancient sages too.
I want to love you like an old man sipping his scotch slowly tasting every drop of that flavor that is bittersweet and changes with every thought in your mind
I want to love you like the old man who sprinted through life and is now at the finish line, slowly walking back to smell the flowers
I want to love you as the old man who can always see the scared and genuine child in all of us, who smiles at the wonder and confusion in our eyes.

But men… we men love women differently…
We love our wives because we loved our wives
We love our wives because they tolerate our weaknesses
We love our wives because they clean up after us, sometimes in the house, but mostly in our social circles.

I never want to love you like that.
I want to love you with a passion so strong it must be hidden from the light of day
I want to love you with a love so true it makes everything else a lie.
I want to love you like I am a child and you are my hero
I want to love you like I am an old man and you are the flowers of yesterday
I want to love you as a man can only love his mistress…

Leave a Reply

