Why Can’t We Be Friends?

Daily Prompt: Do you find it easy to make new friends? Tell us how you’ve mastered the art of befriending a new person.

The moment I read the title of this prompt Jeannette popped into my mind. Every part of me wants to be friends with this girl, but every time I see her I feel like I’m teetering on the edge of falling in love. For a long time it felt like a dangerous cliff that drew me out and made me want to dive into crystal blue waters far below. I am terrified of heights and I don’t know how to swim, but none of that is important.

What is important? What’s important is that I know I don’t want to fall in love with her. It may happen, but I don’t want it to. I wouldn’t say we’re close, but on some level, there is a tunnel between her palace and my fort. She is a beautiful woman who manages to keep people at bay with majesty and mystery. She does a great job of evading situations that she’d rather not deal with. I am an introverted guy who, until recently, wanted the world to know nothing about me.

Somehow, when we end up in the same room, it’s like we’re tumbling through a castle as little kids with wooden swords and magic wands. There is a magic to children that I can’t help but be drawn to. We have to teach kids not to talk to strangers. At the center of it all, children want to share the world with people. She brings out the kid in me. She conjures fairytales with elements from my past as if she was there. She reminds me what it must’ve been like in my long forgotten childhood. Perhaps I never had a childhood like that and she is just gifting it to me for the first time.

Regardless, making friends isn’t easy for me, because I live in a well guarded fort. The friends I have are well defended and they will always have an ally. I stand where I stand, unapologetically. Somehow, she has brought out this love of the world. My fort is looking better and more approachable every day. I invite the world in more readily, though warily. I still don’t venture far from my fort, but maybe one day that will change.

In the meantime, the beautiful princess of the next kingdom can have her palace. Perhaps one day our kingdoms will unite. Perhaps we will be allies for all time. I just hope that we never go to war and that we can at least share in conversation and celebration together. The sounds of laughter and children tumbling through a castle are hard to beat.

I already wrote a post about friendship and almost wanted to just link it to the Daily Prompt, but I am still mildly trapped in my fairytale world.  Here’s a more detailed explanation of how I “manage” friendships.

15 thoughts on “Why Can’t We Be Friends?

Leave a Reply

