Amaranth

The most epic band I’ve seen live has a song called Amaranth. I loved that song from the first time I heard it, but I never knew or questioned what the name meant. I just listened to it and enjoyed the music and the words. Although I’ve been fully in love with the word and its meaning for a few years now, I never even looked at the lyrics until just now, and I must say it strikes very close to home.

Baptized with a perfect name
The doubting one by heart
Alone without himself

War between him and the day
Need someone to blame
In the end, little he can do alone

Not one of those lines sounds abstract or figurative to me. I guess I wasn’t “baptized” but I was “named at birth” with the perfect name. Verses aside, the name of the son is drawn from the chorus

Caress the one, the never-fading
rain in your heart – the tears of Snow White’s sorrow
Caress the one, the hiding amaranth
In a land of the daybreak

Amaranth is a word that derives from Greek, where “a-“ means “not” and “mareinain” meaning “wither.” Amaranth is a word for something that doesn’t wither. From this name, it is easy to see why it associated with love. The name is used for a flower that doesn’t fade quickly after it’s plucked. I have loved the word for a few years now and it is the main dating criterion for me.

I’m a relationship guy. The idea of dating someone who isn’t worth eternity seems pointless. Also, things shouldn’t fade once you’ve “plucked the flower.” It seems like it is getting more common for friends to tell me to get out there and date people and all that nonsense. I never thought the day would come, but even my father jumped on that bandwagon.

Let me say this. I am at daybreak. My life is at dawn. The night has ended and the sun is cresting on the horizon. In the gloomy light I am looking for the hiding amaranth. She will be beautiful and she will never fade. She won’t notice the vain and jealous about her and continue to be a thousand times more beautiful than the evil queen. My tears may fall on her glass coffin, but she is an unfading beauty and I will be possessed.

In the meantime, I will live my life. I will go to work. I will look for her in every woman I encounter. I will see similarities. I may be fooled by a few imposters along the way, but I am not going to give up and I’m not going to settle. I may miss the mark and the next one may not be the last one, but if she doesn’t look like the last one, she’s not going to be the next one either. I am not looking for my next relationship; I am looking for the last one, the love that does not fade.

Leave a Reply

