Aside

the hunt

I am a man on the hunt
I am tracking
the most dangerous game

Doe eyes
Legs of adventure
She sees me coming
She launches herself
She turns on a dime

She is a mythical beast
She hides
like a unicorn

Antlers
Razor sharp tongue
She digs in her feet
She brandishes wit
She stands her ground

“Never corner a wild animal”
Is what they always say
Corners?
Who needs corners?
I will pin her to the wall

Her feet won’t reach the ground
A mess of legs and limbs
Her claws scratching my back
Her teeth in my neck
Mine in hers

Mounted to the wall
Animals both
Both on the hunt
Both unwittingly playing
the most dangerous game.

Leave a Reply

