I feel pretty

I am pretty sure that Tom Cruise and Leonardo DiCaprio are much more attractive than I am. I am not sure, because I really don’t find much attractive in the way of men. In some meandering conversation with Jeannette, I said, “But I look damn good with a goatee,” which lead to much laughter on her part. I don’t know if that’s a good sign or a bad sign of what she thinks of me, but I don’t think it had anything to do with my physical being at all.

I do however, stand by that statement fully. Being Indian, I have a genetic predisposition for growing tons of awesome hair, unfortunately everywhere. When I let my hair grow it becomes this thick and beautiful mane. When I cut a sharp looking goatee out of the forest that grows on my face it hides the shape and color of my lips and makes me look like I’m smiling more often than is normally perceptible. I’m also not a fan of my chin and it does a wonderful job of hiding it. On the practical side my having a goatee has benefits for my partner as well. By noon, you can’t really see my 5 o’clock shadow, but my face is sandpaper. Being in the Reserves, I haven’t had a really nice head of hair or goatee in 12 years. And shaving before work and before dinner is too much for my skin, so it’s nice if you learn to love the way I look with a goatee because I don’t enjoy you wincing in pain whenever my face touches you.

I am certainly an odd ball in my way of thinking, but I really feel there is an amount of personal preference in attractiveness and I’m okay with the fact that 99.9999% of people on the planet would agree that Brad Pitt and Gavin Rossdale are hotter than I am. However, once we’ve made that connection, I think my partner would find me attractive enough and I’d still be okay with her choosing a picture of Vin Diesel as her ideal of masculine beauty.

And if my future partner is reading this, let me just say that it is very likely that Nicole Scherzinger and Jennifer Lawrence are hotter than you. However, even if I was getting a lap dance from Jessica Alba, I’d still want to go home with you. Physical beauty is beautiful, but it’s not enough. No amount of physical beauty could make me want to come home and lay my head in your lap and talk about the horrors of Monday if you sounded like Fran Drescher or even the gorgeous Leah Remini.   It wouldn’t matter if your voice soothed me like Joss Stone and Dido if your words came out like the Jersey shore. And it wouldn’t matter who offered me their heart and soul once I’ve tasted yours.

I don’t require much. I don’t need you to think I’m the hottest guy or the biggest hunk. I don’t need you tell me I’m the best you’ve ever had in bed or that I am the best or most of anything. In relationships, in life, all I ever want to be is enough. I want to be enough of everything so you know you’ll never need more. So one day, I hope you’ll see that the most romantic thing I could ever tell you is that you’re good enough. You’re good enough for everything and always.

If there was one lesson I wish to teach the world, it is that. This is the lesson I want my children to learn. It needs much refinement, because it is the same sentiment but the opposite words of my rant about being good enough, however if you read both, I think you’re smart “enough” to understand.

Leave a Reply

