Worst Case Scenario

Daily Prompt: Of all the awful possibilities, what’s the worst possible thing that could happen to you today? Now, what about the best?

The worst possible thing that could happen to me today is the same thing as yesterday. It is the same thing as tomorrow. It is the same thing for you and you and you. The worst possible thing that could happen to you is that you could find out what the worst possible thing that could happen to you is. This is not some simple dismissal of the question, but a very long considered thought. Reality is far more creative than my imagination. I have a pretty healthy imagination.

Let me again qualify myself to speak on this subject. When I thought that the worst thing that could happen is that I could never meet the love of my life, I met her. When I thought that the worst things that could happen is that she’d dump me, she moved away to college and we did the long distance relationship thing. When I thought the worst thing that could happen was that we wouldn’t make it work, she got kicked out of school for partying too hard. When I thought the worst thing that would happen is that we’d both go to the same college and get sick of each other, she joined the military. When I thought the worst thing that could happen is she’d be sent off to some stupid corner of the world, the towers fell. When I thought the worst thing that could happen is she’d be sent to the desert after training, she got raped. When I thought that she’d never be able to see a man again, she told me she still loved me, but also loved the girl that was there for her after that night even though she was supposed to have been there to watch her back that night but bailed on her. When I thought couldn’t protect her if I wasn’t by her side, I joined the military. When we got deployed on separate rotations, I thought the worst thing would be losing her. When I thought the worst thing was losing her, I asked her to marry me. When I thought the worst thing was having a job I loved but never enough money, I got laid off. When I thought the worst thing would be finding a job I hate, I couldn’t find a job at all.

You want to talk about the worst things in life, I am qualified. But let me tell you about something else too.

When I thought the best thing in life would be to quietly disappear and kill myself in an “accidental car wreck,” we moved to Florida. When I thought the best thing in life would be to go back to school, I did and got straight A’s for a year(I have about 22 A’s, 1 B and 1 B+ on this journey so far). When I thought that the best thing in life would be to get certified in a fallback career, I got a job. When I thought the best thing in life would be to value love over marriage, I got a divorce. When I thought the best thing in life would be to focus on myself I started falling in love with people again (and you know what, it hurts that they’re not falling in love with me, but Skydiving is amazing). When I thought the best thing in life would be to publicly post one positive thing each day, I found a voice.

So yeah, you all can talk about the worst thing that can happen in your life today.   But I tell you what; you’re just being stupid and wasting time. Leave the bad stuff for fate; the universe is much, much more creative than you will ever be. The world will deliver you enough. Work on the good things. Look for the good things. Ask yourself what is the best thing that can happen to you today. Then make it happen.

Leave a Reply

