A Tale of Two Cities

Daily Prompt:If you could split your time evenly between two places, and two places only, which would these be?

This is a surprisingly difficult question for me. When I opened up my word processor and started typing I thought I had the answer. By the time I started typing my own words, I was lost. There are several stipulations I’d have to make in order to answer. First, certain individuals would have to be willing to relocate to one of the two places, or within commuting distance. Secondly, whether money was an object or not would determine the second location.

First, I would take up residence in Ibiza from mid-March to mid-September. I love the life of the island, both the club scene and the natural scene. The party culture and the hippie culture are both amazing. I could see myself growing old over there with some downbeat house. I can’t imagine being too old to appreciate DJ Sammy. I can picture the waters of the Mediterranean. It is the only beach I’ve been too where the water called to me. Ibiza is where I wish to spend eternity.

If money was no object, I’d Gatsby it.   My Daisy isn’t in NY, but I’d live there among the wealthy, throwing parties and letting the stories grow. Maybe my Daisy would cross the bay or the country to see me. Maybe. Regardless, that is not why I’d live there or in that lifestyle. I would live there because it is close enough to NYC and close enough to some of my best friends. NYC offers some magical things to see, but I’d never want to live there. I don’t know that I ever did.   I like loud music at home. The idea of neighbors on each wall and the floor and ceiling annoys me. I also like having a front yard and back yard. Dinner parties that turn into late night parties are always fun.

If money was an object, I would be here. Sitting on this bed with integrated computer and 4.1 surround sound with a little subwoofer bolted to the bottom. I’m not sure that I love anything about Orlando, but I love Orlando. Perhaps it is simply because this is where my heart and mind and life began to heal. Perhaps it is the amazing feeling of meeting amazing people. I can name 4 people I have met in the last 5 years, that I never want to lose touch with. Two of them I can call for help with anything at anytime. It blows my mind. Regardless, I have a simple life down here and am living on college loans and scraping by, but life is good. I can’t remember feeling this much a part of my own life before. All the hardships and problems of the day to day aside, I am happy. And I get to play my eclectic music very loudly all the time.

So I guess I’m a pretty boring person, since I wouldn’t change much short of winning the lottery, but really, I’m okay with that. Life is good!

One thought on “A Tale of Two Cities

Leave a Reply

