New Skin

The Daily Post: If you could spend the next year as someone radically different from the current “you” — a member of a different species, someone from a different gender or generation, etc. — who would you choose to be?

All my life, I’ve felt as if I was from a different time. If I could spend the next year as someone else, I’d probably just “go home.”

As a brown skinned New Yorker, with hairy arms and hair that is a rich black that grows into natural waves that glow with life, the words, “go back to where you came from” have been leveled at me a few times as an insult. You see, I am Indian. I am not descended from the wise and noble culture that some fair skinned idiot found and decided to call Indians. I am not descended from the uncivilized savages who didn’t understand property and sold a piece of the planet to some horrible people for a dollar. I am descended from the wise and noble culture that first idiot was looking for. I am descended from the uncivilized savages who were so advanced that westerners wanted to trade with.

But that is not what I am talking about when I say “go home.”

I was born a thousand years in the future. I am from a time when violence does not make sense. I am from a time when a man can be incredibly attracted to a woman and not tell her and everyone else. I am from a time when the truth is told and the fallout of the truth is dealt with. I am from a time when women don’t talk about being equal, but just stand up and are equal. I am from a time when peace is the default and war is unthinkable. I am from a time when your value to me does not define your worth.

This year has begun. I am bringing home here this year. I am changing myself. I am becoming myself. I am rediscovering myself. This year began with a vow to change who I am. It is not a resolution, but a vow. I am bringing to life the future I want. I am bringing this world home to my future. Will you join me? Will you help me? Let us all step forward together into the brilliant darkness and make the world what it should be.

Leave a Reply

